What’s in a number?

What’s in a number? Truth is, A LOT! I say that in the year 2020. It’s been quite a year for the entire world. 

There was number joke going around. “What’s the worse number ever? #13? 666? 2020 looked at those two and said, Bitches please!”

One of the things that I liked about 2020 : It was a year of inner reflection. What’s most important rose to the surface. For me, it placed me in the heart of the moment. I’m a planner. Yet, with every plan in 2020 I added the caveat, “That’s the plan this moment. It may be totally different in a minute.”

In 2020, most of my plans worked quite well. Travel happened pre-COVID-19. I shared valuable time with my island family. The Caribbean filled my spirit as it does each and every time I am there. Being surrounded by the sea on my little piece of paradise is truly a gift.

Bryce Canyon in March was magical. With snow falling on our first day of exploring the Hoodoos, we mucked through the mud to visit the Queen. Dark wispy clouds brought a certain mysticism to the day. Sheltered from the snow under a tree, a PBJ filled our bellies as the sights enlivened our souls. A long walk from Bryce Point to Sunset Point provided a trek in the snow, then mud as the sun warmed the earth. The scenes opened up around every turn giving us pause as gratitude poured through our veins.  

I have so much gratitude for the relative ease of family members who have been infected by COVID-19 and came through it without too much difficulty. All expressed their appreciation for their sense of smell and taste post-Covid-19. Given time, life became better as flavors registered on their palate once again. A sweet gift in 2020. 

A great internal debate ensued over going back home to see family and friends. In our desire to be with those we love, were we part of the problem? Some would say YES! I have to say, that was the greatest gift in 2020. To have time with those we love most AND to return home safe and sound. Couldn’t ask for anything more! 

This year the holidays were supposed to be with family in Chicago. Instead, they will be spent safely at home in Prescott, enjoying nature and all the gifts my life presents. Although 2020 has bestowed extreme changes worldwide, in hindsight will 2020 be just a number? Time will tell. Be well… Nancy T