Why Write?

In “Honoring My Life” blog, I acknowledged that I wrote, “Finding My Way From Paralysis To A Rich, Full Life,” to share all that I have learned about natural therapy with a greater audience. After years in private practice, I recognized my reach was limited to the number of people entering my treatment room. Although a memoir, “Finding My Way From Paralysis To A Rich, Full Life” was also written as a therapy guide. Helping others to help themselves has been richly rewarding.

Writing never came easy to me. In fact, throughout my academic career it was my worse subject. Instead of feeling encouraged, I felt criticized. A college professor actually sent me for a hearing test figuring my lack of writing skills must be related to insufficient hearing. After the tests showed normal hearing levels, I approached my professor to reveal the findings. A hat covered his bald head and a shock of white hair protruded from his ears, perhaps an internal reshuffling of follicles. My eyes honed in on his bushy ears as I shouted, “My hearing tests were normal.” It was rather comical in a disturbing sort of way.

Years later, in order for people to better understand Polarity Therapy, the modality that calmed my nervous system, I wrote articles. Initially, my partner Beth assisted me. Beth guided me in the development of a proficient use of the English language. AND, she did it with kindness, patience, and ease. In turn, Beth became my first editor. Eventually, I stopped asking Beth to edit every single word or phrase that I created. However, without her kind nature and her understanding of the written word, I’m not sure any of this would have been possible. Although I acknowledged her in “Finding My Way From Paralysis To A Rich, Full Life” & “One of Eight––my perspective of our brother’s suicide,” I would like to THANK Beth L. Meyer again.

In 1989, my life changed with the suicide of my eldest brother Ronny. Ronny was a character; a person liked by everyone. It was the saddest day of my life when I saw him a few months prior to his death. The Ronny that I knew and loved was so lost. Unfortunately, he couldn’t find his way back in life and on September 22,1989, his departure from this world shook me to the core. When I contemplated taking my own life, I took to writing. With pen and paper in hand, I headed to Morton’s Arboretum to hang out in nature. Perched against a tree, I wrote, and wrote, and wrote. What I learned that autumn day was that journalling is a gift that keeps on giving. Once I finished recording my sorrow, my anger, my loss, I leaned back and cried until my well ran dry. From that day forth, journalling has helped me through countless difficulties. It provides a place to document what I am feeling. To take it from the internal to the external changes everything. I don’t have to worry about how it sounds or if it flows. In fact, that day at Morton’s Arboretum I felt possessed. Once I started writing, I couldn’t stop. Page after page poured forth. Years later, my journal entries assisted my writing, “One of Eight–my perspective of our brother’s suicide” as well as “Finding My Way From Paralysis To A Rich, Full Life.” Quite honestly, writing saved my life.

Why write? Well, you never know where it will lead you. As the woman in Questions & Comments blog stated, “We all have a story.” Sharing is healing. Be well… Nancy T

  • Go to http://naturalmassagetherapy.com/books/ to purchase your copy of “Finding My Way From Paralysis To A Rich, Full Life” by Nancy M. Turcich, NTS, BCPP. For a limited time, take advantage of a special offer (only available by email: nmt1@naturalmassagetherapy.com): $12.00 plus shipping and handling.
  • eBooks are available on Amazon, iTunes, & Nook.

** 10 % of the proceeds from “Finding My Way From Paralysis To A Rich, Full Life” benefit the   Christopher & Dana Reeves Foundation.

